Penguin Teen does Author’s Spotlight with Rick Yancey!

The Infinite Sea, the sequel to Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave hits book stores tomorrow. Penguin Teen did an author’s spotlight with Rick before the release of The Infinite Sea.

With all of us holding our breath in anticipation of the September 16th release of THE INFINITE SEA (What happened to Evan?!), we thought we’d bring in the man behind the wave: Rick Yancey! Read on to find out what he’s working on and a few other fun facts.

Name: Rick Yancey

Novel: THE INFINITE SEA

Available: 9/16/2014

Who’s your favorite author, living or dead?

I have two: Graham Greene and John Updike. Both such good writers they scare me.

What’s your favorite thing about your book?

The covers and the title pages. It still thrills me to see my manuscript typeset and laid out like a real book!

If you could spend one year on a deserted island with one character from literature, who would you choose?

Sherlock Holmes. Not that I’m anticipating a crime happening, but I think he would be an excellent survivalist.

Where do you write?

Two places: on my patio by the pool and in my head.

Who is your favorite hero or heroine of history?

Abraham Lincoln. Came from nothing, saved everything.

Do you tweet? What’s the funniest thing you’ve ever tweeted?

I do tweet. A funny, recurring one is my thumb taking on a mind of its own and I just tweet out my handle @rickyancey. People always favorite that one.

What is your favorite season?

“I praise the fall; it is the human season.” Archibald MacLeish.

If you could teleport anywhere in the known universe right now, where would you go?

Someplace where there was oxygen.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Coffee. Music. A fan or heater going (depending on the season). Coffee.

What is your idea of earthly happiness?

A sunset walk on the beach with my true love.

What is the best concert you’ve ever been to?

Bruce Springsteen, any of ‘em.

What are you currently working on?

The third book of The 5th Wave series. So fun. So scary. So tear-jerky.

Remember to follow Rick Yancey on Twitter or visit his personal website to keep up with him.

Leave a comment